Four new members of NJ Transit board confirmed

Trains Industry Newsletter
Get a weekly roundup of the industry news you need.
By signing up you may also receive occasional reader surveys and special offers from Trains magazine. View our privacy policy.

TRENTON — The New Jersey Senate voted unanimously on Monday to confirm four new board members of the NJ Transit board. Even with the confirmations, the board still has five seats to fill. reports that the new board members, nominated by Gov. Phil Murphy in March, are:

—  Retired Democratic state senator Bob Gordon, who reports was co-chair of the committee that investigated the fatal NJ Transit rail crash in Hoboken in 2016;

— Cedric Fulton, a former director of bridges, tunnels, and terminals for the Port Authority of New York and New Jersey;

— Richard Maroko, general counsel for the Hotel Trades Council, AFL-CIO, who said he is a regular commuter on NJ Transit’s Montclair-Boonton Line;

— James Adams, an engineer from West Orange, N.J., who has worked with public agencies including the Port Authority and New Jersey Highway Administration.

The confirmations give the board eight members, but its membership was expanded from eight to 13 under a law signed in December 2018. Murphy is still considering other nominees, reports.

Leave a Comment
Want to leave a comment?
Only registered members of are allowed to leave comments. Registration is FREE and only takes a couple minutes.

Login or Register now.
Please keep your feedback on-topic and respectful. Trains staffers reserve the right to edit or delete any comments.


The Genesee & Wyoming 

Newsletter Sign-Up

By signing up you may also receive occasional reader surveys and special offers from Trains magazine.Please view our privacy policy
Subscribe Up To 58% off the newsstand price!
Subscribe To Trains Mag Today