FTA certifies transit safety oversight in three more states

Trains Industry Newsletter
Get a weekly roundup of the industry news you need.
By signing up you may also receive occasional reader surveys and special offers from Trains magazine. View our privacy policy.
WASHINGTON — With just less than a year to go, 11 of 30 states have certified public transit State Safety Oversight programs, according to the Federal Transit Administration.

Arizona, Pennsylvania, and Georgia are the latest states of have safety programs certified. Certification means that states have the authority to oversee the safety of mass transit systems in their jurisdictions.

The other certified states are Colorado, Hawaii, Massachusetts, Ohio, Minnesota, Utah, and Virginia. The FTA also lists the District of Columbia Fire and Emergency Medical Services Department as safety certified, but the Metrorail Safety Commission, formed by the District, Maryland, and Virginia to oversee the Metro subway system, has yet to be certified.

The FTA says that all states to be certified have reached Stage 3 status, where the “state has submitted all required documents to FTA and is engaged in a dialogue with FTA to address comments and questions. Where applicable, all required legislation has been enacted.”

All states must be certified by April 15, 2019.

NEWSWIRETrains News Wire

  • Previous Day
  • April 26, 2018
  • Next Day
Leave a Comment
Want to leave a comment?
Only registered members of TrainsMag.com are allowed to leave comments. Registration is FREE and only takes a couple minutes.

Login or Register now.
Please keep your feedback on-topic and respectful. Trains staffers reserve the right to edit or delete any comments.


The Genesee & Wyoming 

Newsletter Sign-Up

By signing up you may also receive occasional reader surveys and special offers from Trains magazine.Please view our privacy policy
Subscribe Up To 58% off the newsstand price!
Subscribe To Trains Mag Today