Awards cap ASLRRA convention

Trains Industry Newsletter
Get a weekly roundup of the industry news you need.
By signing up you may also receive occasional reader surveys and special offers from Trains magazine. View our privacy policy.
GRAPEVINE, Texas — Conrail received the Regional Railroad of the Year award and Pennsylvania’s North Shore Railroad Co. was recognized as the Short Line of the Year as the American Short Line and Regional Railroad Association concluded its annual convention on Tuesday at the Gaylord Texan resort.

Also honored was Gary A. Griswell, customer success manager, rail, at GE Transportation, who received the Distinguished Service Award. Receiving ASLRRA Marketing Awards were the North Shore Railroad Co.; Springfield Terminal-Pan Am Railways; and the Wisconsin & Southern Railroad Co. Railroads receiving veterans recruitment awards were the Newburgh & South Shore and the Louisville & Indiana; suppliers honored for veterans recruitment were Magnus LLC and GE Transportation. Alexis Jakubowski, daughter of Anacostia Rail Holdings Chief Commercial Officer Eric T. Jakubowski, received the organization’s Murray Scholarship.

Safety awards were handed out on Monday. Ron Sparks of the Arkansas & Missouri Railroad was named Safety Professional of the Year; Ketih L. LaPorte of the Old Augusta Railroad was named Safety Person of the Year.

NEWSWIRETrains News Wire

  • Previous Day
  • April 25, 2017
  • Next Day
Leave a Comment
Want to leave a comment?
Only registered members of are allowed to leave comments. Registration is FREE and only takes a couple minutes.

Login or Register now.
Please keep your feedback on-topic and respectful. Trains staffers reserve the right to edit or delete any comments.


The Genesee & Wyoming 

Newsletter Sign-Up

By signing up you may also receive occasional reader surveys and special offers from Trains magazine.Please view our privacy policy
Subscribe Up To 58% off the newsstand price!
Subscribe To Trains Mag Today